The BJP has performed well in the Bodoland Council elections

Assembly elections are due in Assam six months later. The BJP has performed well in the Bodoland Council elections held before that. The party has won nine of the 40 seats here, while it won only one seat in the 2015 elections. The ruling Bodo People’s Front (BPF) won 17 seats and the United People’s Party Liberals (UPPL) won 12 seats.

The Congress and Gana Suraksha Party (GSP) have won one seat each. While Badruddin Ajmal’s AIUDF has failed to open its account. These elections are important because they are being considered as a semi-final before the assembly elections.

The BJP has performed well in the Bodoland Council elections ..
The BJP has performed well in the Bodoland Council elections ..

On the BJP’s victory, the Union Home Minister said, ‘NDA has won a comfortable majority in Assam BTC election. Congratulations to our partners UPPL, CM Sarbananda Sonowal, Himanta Biswa Sarma, Ranjit Kumar Das and Assam BJP. I thank the people of Assam for their continued faith in Prime Minister Narendra Modi’s resolve towards a developed North East. ‘

The BPF and the BJP alliance, which together ran the government in the state, fought the BTC elections separately. During the election campaign, the two parties were seen standing against each other. The BJP and UPPL have not announced any formal alliance, but both have indicated a possible alliance after the election in case of hung results.

UPPL chief Pramod Brahma won from two seats. He held discussions with BJP minister Himanta Biswa Sarma, BJP state unit president Ranjit Kumar Das and BJP national general secretary and Mangaldoi MP Dilip Saikia late Saturday night over the BTC election. His decision regarding the formation of the council is likely to be announced soon.

Sarma told reporters that the decision will be announced after discussions with Chief Minister Sarbananda Sonowal. The council has been elected in New Delhi on January 27 after being signed by leaders of all four factions of the National Democratic Front of Bodoland (NDFB). The deal was then signed between All Bodo Students Union (ABSU) chief Pramod Boro, then BTC chief Hagrama Mohilary and Chief Minister Sarbananda Sonowal.

The counting of ballots for the 40-member council election began on Saturday and continued until Sunday morning. Major winners include BPF chief Hagrama Mohilary, who won from Debergaon seat but lost to UPPL candidate Ukil Mushahari on Kachhugaon seat. The BTC election covers four districts – Kokrajhar, Chirang, Baksa and Udalguri.

%d bloggers like this: